The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Fines & Fees

Overdue Fees are assessed for overdue recalled items, laptops, multimedia equipment and Course Reserve library materials. Due date reminder notices and billing notices are sent to the email address listed on the patron's account record.

For overdue recalled items the overdue fee is $2 per day up to a maximum of $30 and a Notice of Fine Due on Late Recall will be sent.  Borrowing privileges will be temporarily suspended for overdue recalled items that are not returned.

For 3-hour Reserve items, the overdue fee is $10.00 per hour, up to a $150.00 maximum.

For 3-day Laptop loans, the overdue fee is $50.00 per day, up to a $150.00 maximum.

For 3-day Multimedia Equipment loans, the overdue fee is $50.00 per day, up to a $150.00 maximum. 

Replacement Charges

UMass and Five College books: The standard replacement charge for books borrowed from the W.E.B. Du Bois Library is $60, plus a $25 processing fee, for a total of $85.

Science and Engineering Books:  The standard replacement charge for Science and Engineering Library books is $75, plus a $25 processing fee, for a total of $100 for Science and Engineering Library books.

Course Reserve Items: The standard replacement charge for Course Reserves materials is $175, plus a $15 processing fee and a $10 non-refundable billing fee, for a total of $200.

Media materials: The standard replacement charge for unreturned or lost DVDs, Videocassettes, Music/Audio CDs, Audiocassettes, LPs, and Other Media Items is is $70,, for a total of $95. Fees for certain academic media materials or multivolume sets may be higher, reflecting the actual cost of replacement.

Public Locker Keys: The replacement charge for unreturned 3-day public locker keys is $50, plus a $15 processing fee and a $10 non-refundable billing fee, for a total of $75.

Laptops and Multimedia Equipment: See information pages for Multimedia Equipment  and Laptops.  

When library materials are not returned, a Replacement Charge notice is sent by email to the borrower. This bill includes a standard replacement charge plus a $25 processing fee.  If a lost item is found and returned within two (2) years of the book replacement bill, the bill will be adjusted, and the replacement charge and processing fee are reversed.  Charges for damaged materials and special classes of materials (such as art books and periodical volumes) are determined on a case-by-case basis and may be significantly higher, reflecting the actual cost of replacing the item.

Contact    (413) 545-2623

Payment of Fines and Bills

For UMass-Amherst campus students, all Library fines and bills are payable at the University Bursar's Office.

For Massachusetts State Resident and Alumni borrowers, the Libraries accept direct payment (check or money order only) made payable to the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Concerns about returns?

If you think you returned a Library item but it is still showing as checked out to you, please submit a Patron Claim of Return form and we'll investigate.

Appeal of Fines and Bills

Please use the Fines Appeal Form to submit appeals for Library fines and bills. You will be notified of a decision within 10 working days.