UMass Amherst
Site Search
UMass Amherst LibrariesAsk a librarian
About the Libraries » Department Directory » Science and Engineering Library

Science and Engineering Library


Science and Engineering Library
Lederle Graduate Research Center, Lowrise - Room A273
Telephone: (413) 545-1370 Fax: (413) 577-1534 

The Science and Engineering Library features librarians, reference sources, information, books, journal articles, and research help in the fields of agricultural sciences, astronomy, biochemistry, biology (except medicine and health), chemistry, computer science, all fields of engineering, food science, geosciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, polymer science, and wood technology. Medicine and health-related materials are in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library although our health-sciences specialist James Craig has his office at the Science and Engineering Library. 

Services

Reference librarians, scanner, printers, copiers, book and journal circulation, instruction in library use, and help with research. Contact Paulina BorregoJames CraigNaka Ishii, or Maxine Schmidt to make an appointment for classroom library instruction or individualized research help, including patent research.

Find your department's librarian on Academic Liaison Program - Liaison Librarian Assignments.

If you wish to donate science or technology books or other materials to the Library, please contact your department's Liaison Librarian.

Library Hours

Department Staff      
Name    Phone  Email 
James Borkowski  Tiered Reference Assistant & Reference Desk Coordinator (413) 545-1371 jvborkow@library.umass.edu
Paulina Borrego    Science and Engineering Reference Services Librarian  (413) 545-7891 pborrego@library.umass.edu
John Caranci           Branch Library Assistant (413) 577-3277 caranci@library.umass.edu
Robert Charles       Science and Engineering Circulation Services Evening Supervisor  (413) 545-6734 crobert@library.umass.edu
James Craig          Biological Sciences Librarian/Instructional Services Librarian (413) 545-6690 jlcraig@library.umass.edu
Naka Ishii             Science Librarian  (413) 545-1656 nishii@library.umass.edu
Karen Markham     Branch Library Assistant (413) 545-4457 karen@library.umass.edu
Maxine Schmidt     Head, Science & Engineering  Reference Librarian (413) 545-6739 mschmidt@library.umass.edu
Cynthia Spell         Science Cataloger (413) 577-2631 spell@library.umass.edu
Internano      
Jessica Adamick  Science Librarian for the Center for Hierarchical Manufacturing (413) 577-0912 jadamick@library.umass.edu
Robert Stevens  Web Database Developer (413) 577-0913 stevens@library.umass.edu

Mailing Address:

Science and Engineering Library
Lederle Graduate Research Center, Lowrise, Rm A273
University of Massachusetts Amherst
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-9306  

Shipping (UPS) Address:

Science and Engineering Library
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
South College Loading Dock
University of Massachusetts Amherst
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003-9275

All COURSE RESERVES are available on the 3rd Floor of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library.

 

 

Last Edited: 9 November 2012